2 New Ministers for Nigeria

Professor Stephen Ocheni from Kogi State and Mr Suleiman Hassan from Gombe State will be sworn in as ministers in Nigeria today Wednesday, July 26.

It will be a major assignment to be performed by Acting President Yemi Osinbajo for the past two months.

The media adviser to the acting president, Laolu Akande, in a tweet on Tuesday night, confirmed that the men would be sworn in Wednesday.

The Senate approved the appointment of the two new ministers on May 3, shortly before President Muhammadu Buhari travelled to London on medical vacation.

Ocheni and Hassan would take the oath before the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

Ocheni will be replacing Mr James Ocholi (minister of state for employment, labour and productivity) who died in a car crash early 2016, while Hassan will be replacing Mrs Amina Mohammed (minister of environment) who is now on assignment as deputy secretary-general of the United Nations.

Most Popular

To Top