Three Nigerian political parties that were deregistered by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in 2012 have been restored: Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) led by Balarabe Musa, the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) and the Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP).

A Federal High Court sitting in Abuja headed by Justice Adeniyi Ademola ruled onThursday that the parties were not given fair hearing.

INEC’s action was “unconstitutional, invalid, null and void” as it runs contrary to the provisions of section 78(7) (ii) of the Electoral Act 2010, which the electoral body had relied on to deregister the parties.

INEC has no power to deregister a party, the court added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here