Victor Oye, Labaran Maku Lead APGA

The All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA, on Saturday elected its new leaders.
Mr Victor Oye now replaces Chief Victor Umeh as national chairman. Former information minister Labaran Maku is the new national secretary.
Ifeatu Okoye was elected national publicity secretary while Chuks Nwoga was named youth leader. Obiagu Ezinne was elected the national women leader.
Maku was the party’s governorship candidate for Nasarawa State in this year’s polls. He crossed over from the PDP after he was denied a ticket.
The only state APGA currently controls is Anambra. Willie Obiano is the state governor. His predecessor, Peter Obi, left the party for the PDP. But APGA is relatively strong in all south-east states of Nigeria.
APGA has not fielded a presidential candidate since Ikemba Emeka Ojukwu’s ran for the last time in 2007. It officially supported the PDP presidential candidate in 2011 and 2015.

Most Popular

To Top