John Nwodo, Ayogu Eze, Others for Launch of amu nnadi’s ‘the love canticles’

*… album of songs to be unveiled too

The advisory and planning committees for the public presentation of the love canticles, a new book by prolific Nigerian poet amu nnadi, has been unveiled.

Prominent among the personages is former president-general of Ohaneze Ndigbo and two-time minister Chief John Nnia Nwodo as well as Senator Ayogu Eze, who represented Enugu North from 2007 to 2015. 

The list, unveiled in Port Harcourt, Rivers State capital, also named Mr Davies Okarevu, the director of planning, research and statistics of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, as chairman of the planning committee.

Other members named include Hon. Chijioke Edeoga, commissioner of environment, Enugu State, and former member of House of Representatives; Barrister George Ero, director, Rivers State Office; Dr. Prince Alazigha, director, community and rural development; Barrister Stephen Ighomuaye, director, legal services; Eno Ubi Otu, director, finance and accounts; and Engr. Emeka Ani, director, Office of Interim Administrator/CEO of the NDDC.

Mr James Eze, chief press secretary to Anambra State governor Chief Willie Obiano, and winner of the 2020 ANA Poetry Prize for his book “dispossessed”, and Samson Fiberesima, the general manager of Radio Rivers, were also named.

This is the seventh book of the multiple award-winning poet whose 2013 anthology, through the window of a sandcastle, won the 2013 ANA Poetry Prize, the 2014 inaugural Glenna Luschei African Poetry Book Prize, and was the runner-up to the 2013 Nigeria LNG Prize for Literature.

Described by poet and literary critic Michael Chiedoziem Chukwudera as an “alchemical phenomenon”, the love canticles is a book of 100 romantic poems.

According to a press statement signed in Port Harcourt by Edwina Aleme, a member of the planning committee, the public presentation, scheduled to hold in the last week of June in Port Harcourt, will also witness the unveiling of an album of songs created from amu nnadi’s poetry, “amu nnadi: everything beautiful”.

“This is going to be the first of its kind in Nigerian poetry and promises to be a day of astounding art,” Aleme stated, adding: “Chief John Nnia Nwodo will present a speech at the event, while the review of the love canticles will be presented by James Eze.

The full list of the planning and advisory committees:

Davies Okarevu (Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, NDDC) — Chairman

Emeka Ani (Director, Office of IA/CEO, NDDC) — Member

Steve Ighomuaye (Director, Legal Services) — Member

Eno Ubi Otu (Director, Finance and Accounts, NDDC) — Member

Hon. Chijioke Edeoga (Commissioner for Environment, Enugu State) — Member 

James Eze (Chief Press Secretary, Anambra State Government and Winner, ANA Poetry Prize 2020) — Member

Sampson Fiberesima (General Manager, Radio Rivers; and Captain, Book Section, Port Harcourt Club 1928)

Oby Ndukwe (CEO, Citizens Quest TV)

Tammy Allaboh

Pamela Scott (Producer, “amu nnadi: everything beautiful”)

Clara Braide (Directorate of Skills Development and Empowerment, NDDC)

Edwina Aleme (Port Harcourt Literary Society)


Chief John Nnia Nwodo (former President-General, Ohanaeze Ndigbo)

Senator Ayogu Eze (former senator representing Enugu North)

Pastor George Ero (Director, Rivers State Office, NDDC)

Dr. Prince Alazigha (Director, Community and Rural Development, NDDC)

Most Popular

To Top