17 Education Agencies Get New Heads

Seventeen chief executives of agencies under Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Education got the boot Monday. The tenures of some had expired, however, and their replacements named.

A statement signed by a deputy director in the education ministry, Mr Benjamim Goong, said the new chief executives had been invited to meet with the minister of education, Adamu Adamu, on Tuesday.

The appointments:

National Universities Commission – Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed

Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration – Prof. Lilian Salami

Universal Basic Education – Dr. Hameed Bobboyi

National Library of Nigeria – Prof Lanre Aina

National Examinations Council – Prof. Charles Uwakwe

National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education – Prof. Abba Aladu

Nomadic Education Commission – Prof. Bashir Usman

National Business and Technical Examinations Board – Prof. Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe

Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof. Sunday Josiah Ajiboye

Computer Registration Council of Nigeria – Afolabi Aderinto

National Commission for Colleges of Education – Prof. Bappah Aliyu

Tertiary Education Trust Fund – Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa

National Mathematical Centre – Prof. Steven Ejugwu Onah

Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, JAMB – Prof. Ishaq Oloyede

National Institute of Nigerian Languages – Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche

Librarians’ Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof Michael Afolabi

National Teachers Institute – Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare

Buhari has also approved that the following chief executives to be retained in their respective agencies:

Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council – Prof. Samaila Junaidu

Nigerian French Language Village – Prof Rauf Adebisi

National Board for Technical Education – Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure

National Arabic Language Village – Prof. Muhammad Mu’az.


The appointments take effect from August 1, 2016.


Most Popular

To Top