New NSA, Service Chiefs

A statement issued by presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, said President Buhari has changed the national security adviser and the service chiefs.

The statement listed the new appointees as: Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General T.Y. Buratai, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas, Chief of Naval Staff; Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff; Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku Morgan, Chief of Defence Intelligence; and Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.), National Security Adviser.

Adesina’s statement further explained that “the new Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Olonishakin (N/6901) hails from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff today, he was the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.

“The new Chief of Army Staff, Major-General Buratai hails from Borno State. Until his new appointment today, he was the Commander of the Multi-national Joint Task Force, which has its headquarters in Ndjamena.

“Major-General Buratai has previously served as Commander of the Nigerian Army’s 2nd Brigade in Port Harcourt and Commander of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry in Jaji, Kaduna State.

“The new Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral  Ibas (NN/0746) hails from Cross River State. He enlisted into the Nigerian Defence Academy as  a member of the 26th Regular Course in 1979 and was commissioned as a Sub-Lieutenant in 1983.

“His previous appointments include Naval Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding, Western Naval Command, and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters.

“Until his appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.

“The new Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Abubakar (NAF/1433) hails from Bauchi State. His previous appointments include Chief of Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command.

“Until his new appointment today as Chief of Air Staff, he was the Chief of Administration, NAF Headquarters.

“The new Service Chiefs will hold their appointments in an acting capacity until confirmed by the Senate.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing service chiefs and national security adviser for their services to the nation and wishes them well in their future endeavours.”

Accordingly, the national security adviser, Sambo Dasuki, and the service chiefs Buhari inherited from Goodluck Jonathan have been sacked.

The sacked service chiefs are the chief of defence staff, Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh; chief of army staff, Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah; chief of naval staff, Rear Admiral Usman Jubril; and chief of air staff, Air Marshal Adesola Amosun.

Their removal from office came on the heels of a resurgence of terrorist attacks in parts of the north.


Most Popular

To Top