8th NASS: Lawan, Gbajabiamila Win in APC’s Mock Poll

Following a mock poll conducted on Saturday night by All Progressives Congress senators in Abuja, Senator Ahmad Lawan from Yobe State is now the party’s candidate for Senate president. Senator George Akume from Benue State will run as his deputy in Tuesday’s proper election on the floor of the Senate chambers.
Supporters of Senator Bukola Saraki boycotted the mock poll.
The ruling party has also selected Femi Gbajabiamila from Lagos as its candidate for speaker of the House of Representatives. Hon. Yakubu Dogara’s supporters walked out of the venue.
The APC has 59 senators out of 109.

Most Popular

To Top