Buhari Is APC flag-bearer with 3, 430 Votes

Nigeria’s presidential election already slated for February 14, 2015, will be a straight fight between Muhammadu Buhari of the APC and Goodluck Jonathan of the PDP. Buhari won the APC primary  overwhelmingly, according to the results declared Thursday evening in Lagos, in a process universally acknowledged as free, fair and transparent.

While Nigerians witnessed a “coronation” of Jonathan by the PDP on Wednesday (since he was the sole aspirant), the APC candidacy was contested by Buhari, Atiku Abubakar, Sam Nda-Isaiah, Rabiu Kwankwaso and Rochas Okorocha.

Eyeway was told that the 12 APC governors and  other leaders of the party like Asiwaju Bola Tinubu agreed to back Buhari.

The results of the APC primary where 7, 214 delegates were accredited show that Buhari polled 3, 430 votes, followed by Kwankwaso with 974 votes and Atiku with 954 votes.

Others are Okorocha, 624 votes; and Nda-Isaiah, 10 votes. Void votes were 16.

The contestants had signed a memorandum of understanding to work together after the primary. The success of the party in the general election will depend greatly on implementation of that understanding.

Most Popular

To Top